We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

A Waiting Land

by Deep South

supported by
Geoffrey Diver
Geoffrey Diver thumbnail
Geoffrey Diver Awesome fusion of sounds and styles, with tracks that soothe, groove and move. Covers a great range of moods; was pleasantly surprised by the heavier prog-rock elements of this album. Favorite track: Restless Spirit.
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €10 EUR  or more


Phiphidi 06:00
Sesriem 06:57
Country Boy 06:16
Spaces 05:05
Yaake Focus 06:53
The Edge 09:42
Here 04:12


Recorded between 2009 and 2013 by Ronan Skillen in Noordhoek, Kalk Bay and Scarborough South Africa.
Basic recording on tracks 5 and 7 by Trish Bailey at Earthrise, Kommetjie.
Produced by Ronan Skillen and Dave Ledbetter.
Mastered by Tim Lengfeld.
Sleeve design: Maya Morgan and Ronan Skillen.
Photography: Maya Morgan.


released June 1, 2013

Dave Ledbetter: acoustic guitars, electric guitars, electric baritone guitar, keyboard.
Ronan Skillen: tabla, udu, hybrid kit, water gongs, percussion
Shane Cooper: acoustic fretless bass (tracks 2,6,8,9)
Darren English: trumpet (tracks 5,7,9)
Mark Fransman: e flat clarinet (track 1) alto flute (tracks 3,4)
Kevin Gibson: drums (tracks 5,6,7)
Shaun Johannes: electric fretless bass (tracks 5,7)
Hein van de Geyn: double bass (tracks1,3,4)

All compositions written and arranged by Dave Ledbetter ©2013


all rights reserved



Deep South Cape Town, South Africa

"Ensembles like Deep South sometimes have to use the labels. How, otherwise, will the store know where to shelve them, or the promoter how to bill them? You can hear them talking about the album on YouTube; but, in truth, Heartland is simply music: imaginatively conceived and beautifully, skillfully played. Check it out." Gwen Ansell. ... more

contact / help

Contact Deep South

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account